Dr Jim Salinger

New Zealander of the Year



New Zealander of the Year

Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa

The most prestigious national award honouring people for their contribution to the wellbeing of our country. Proven, inspirational and passionate, these are the people that New Zealand is proud to call their own.

To be eligible for this award, the nominee must have, through their achievements, made an outstanding contribution to the wellbeing of Aotearoa, particularly across the last 12-months.

Nominators should consider talking about the following areas in their nomination:

  • THE NOMINEE: Describe the person you are nominating and what they’ve done to inspire you to nominate them as 2024 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Te Pou Whakarae o Aotearoa.
  • PURPOSE: Who benefits from the work, contribution, or influence of this person – and how?
  • LEADERSHIP: How does this person set a positive example for other fellow New Zealanders and showing them the potential for change.
  • COMMITMENT: Describe the commitment of time, risks, and challenges overcome to create an impact to this point (this may still be ongoing). What have they done that has gone above and beyond to show leadership, create change, and give back?
  • THOUGHT LEADERSHIP & INNOVATIVE THINKING: How thoughtful, creative, and unique is this person’s approach to their challenge, opportunity, or situation?
  • PROVEN IMPACT: How has this person clearly demonstrated a positive impact in their area of influence? How is has this been measured?
  • LONG-TERM IMPACT: If known, how does this person plan to grow and/or adapt their work, contribution, or influence in the future? How would winning this award impact this person and the work that they are doing?

Conditions of Entry

Dr Jim Salinger

Dr. Jim Salinger CRSNZ, a distinguished international climate scientist, has dedicated almost fifty years to advancing climate science. Recognised as one of the first scientists to address global warming, his pioneering work in 1975 marked the inception of a remarkable career. Jim’s contributions include ground-breaking research on Southern Hemisphere climate change, earning him the prestigious NZ Science and Technology Medal in 1994. With over 190 publications and counting, Jim is an influential communicator on climate change, addressing audiences nationwide. He was a lead author for the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which earned the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. More recently, Jim has garnered multiple accolades, including the 2018 World Meteorological Organization Award and the 2019 Jubilee Medal, in recognition of his lifetime achievements in climate and agricultural science. Today, he remains an advocate for environmental responsibility, offering practical advice through talks around the country and is a founding member of the intergenerational ambassadors – a collective looking to unite New Zealanders across the generations for positive change.



Dr Jim Salinger


Professor Rangi Mātāmua


Tā Tipene O′Regan


Dr Siouxsie Wiles MNZM


Jennifer Te Atamira Ward-Lealand


Mike King


Kristine Bartlett


Taika Waititi


Richie McCaw


Sir Stephen Tindall


Dr Lance O′Sullivan


Dame Anne Salmond


Sir Richard Taylor


Sir Paul Callaghan


Sir Ray Avery



New Zealander of the Year

Steve Jurkovich

Kiwibank Chief Executive

“We’re proud to champion a modern, progressive, diverse Aotearoa and the Kiwi recognised through the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards epitomise this. This is an important platform to recognise the mahi, grit and vision of the game-changing, innovative leaders who are working to make Aotearoa a better place for all of us.”