Semi-finalists for 2018 New Zealander of the Year named

28 Dec 2017

The New Zealander of the Year Awards office is pleased to announce the semi-finalists for each award category of the 2018 New Zealander of the Year Awards.

They are:

·Philip Bagshaw (Christchurch)

·Kristine Bartlett (Lower Hutt)

·Grant Dalton (Auckland)

·Lesley Elliott (Dunedin)

·Heather Henare (Wellington)

·Dr Mike Joy (Palmerston North)

·Mike King (Auckland)

·Dr Mahsa Mohaghegh (Auckland)

·Annah Stretton (Hamilton)

·Dr Siouxsie Wiles (Auckland)

Comment from Chief Judge Cameron Bennett

These 10 Kiwis are our voices of conscience, courage and commitment. They don’t just speak truth to power – they put their words into action and make a truly positive difference for all New Zealanders.

While one of these 10 people will ultimately be named Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year for 2018, each is already a very special Kiwi in their own right.


The annual New Zealander of the Year awards are in their ninth year. They celebrate people who use their passion for New Zealand to make our country a better place. They are open to all New Zealanders to honour extraordinary Kiwis whose selflessness, creativity, and vision make us proud to call New Zealand home.

1,118 nominations were received for the title of 2018 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year.

In January, the judging panel – comprising representatives of all the awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will announce the final shortlist of the three Kiwis being considered for the 2018 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year title and the other category finalists.

The winner will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Awards Gala in Auckland on Thursday night, February 22, 2018.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr. Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

Other categories

The 2018 New Zealander of the Year Awards also honour New Zealanders who have performed with distinction in five other award categories.

The semifinalists for these categories are:

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year

·Peter Burling (Tauranga)

·David Cameron (Auckland)

·Kristina Cavit (Auckland)

·Tom Francis (Hawke’s Bay

·Alexander Kuch (Auckland)

·Lizzie Marvelly (Auckland)

·Grace Stratton (Auckland)

·Josiah Tualamali’i (Christchurch)

·Rees Vinsen (Auckland)

·Logan Williams (Christchurch)

Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year

·Billy Apple (Auckland)

·Peter Carrington (Paraparaumu)

·Mark Dunajtschik (Wellington)

·Prof. Bob Elliott (Auckland)

·Christine Hartstone (Raglan)

·Robert Kinsela Workman (Lower Hutt)

·Margaret Dunkley (Auckland)

·Peter McLaren (Wellington)

·John Peebles (Auckland)

·Bryan Williams (Auckland)

Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year

·Bellyfull (Wellington)

·Canterbury Charitable Hospital Trust (Christchurch)

·De Paul House Emergency Housing (Auckland)

·Eat My Lunch (Auckland)

·I Have A Dream (Whangarei)

·Kaibosh Food Rescue (Wellington)

·Pillars (Auckland)

·Te Iwi O Te Roroa (Waipoua)

·Whangawehi Catchment Management (Hawke’s Bay)

·Zealandia (Wellington)

Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year

·Robert Bell (Auckland)

·Rick Fright and Bruce McCallum (Christchurch)

·Kevin Halsall and Marcus Thompson (Otaki)

·Nick Hammond (Auckland)

·Prof. Jane Harding (Auckland)

·Chris Heaslip (Auckland)

·Fraser Smith and Matt Yallop (Hamilton)

·Ian Taylor (Dunedin)

·Team New Zealand Design Team (Auckland)

·Brianne West (Christchurch)

Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

·Joseph Fa’afiu (Auckland)

·Ricky Houghton (Kaitaia)

·Dave Letele (Auckland)

·Janice Lee (Invercargill)

·Mohamud Mohamed (Auckland)

·Alexandra Nicholas (Auckland)

·Pamela Anne O’Keefe (Hastings)

·David Rule (Auckland)

·Farida Sultana (Wellington)

·Caine Warren (Auckland)

Related news