Inspirational names among 2019 Nominations

2 Oct 2018

2019 nominees Marewa Glover, Major Campbell Roberts, Scott Dixon and Lesley Elliott,
2019 nominees Marewa Glover, Major Campbell Roberts, Scott Dixon and Lesley Elliott,

Nominations have now closed for the 2019 New Zealander of the Year Awards. With close to 1,800 nominations and 488 for the New Zealander of the Year category, we are again overwhelmed by the amount of exceptional nominations the awards have received this year.

This year’s nominations for the 2019 New Zealander of the Year, and supporting categories, is testament to Kiwi’s very fine tradition of acknowledging excellence and the good deeds of others and to paraphrase 2011 New Zealander of the Year Sir Paul Callaghan, New Zealand is certainly a place where talent wants to live.

Some have worked tirelessly for their local communities. Others have stamped their mark at a national or even international level. They’ve spoken for those who can’t and they’ve changed the way we think about ourselves and the world. All have made our country a better place.

  • Examples of New Zealanders nominated for 2019 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year for their contribution to social good include:
    • Scott Dixon (Auckland) – professional race car driver.
    • Annah Stretton (Hamilton) – philanthropist, entrepreneur and fashion designer.
    • Mike King (Auckland) – mental health advocate.
    • Marewa Glover (Auckland) – public health academic specialising in smoking cessation.
    • Sir Peter Gluckman (Auckland) – former science advisor to the Prime Minister.
    • Craig Heatley (Auckland) – businessman, entrepreneur and philanthropist.
    • Moana Jackson (Wellington) – Treaty of Waitangi and constitutional issues lawyer.
    • Alan Halse (Hamilton) – director of Culturesafe NZ.
    • Lesley Elliott (Canterbury) – founder of the Sophie Elliott Foundation.
    • Dr Sharad P Paul (Auckland) – skin cancer expert and social entrepreneur.
    • Minnie Baragwanath (Auckland) – founder and CEO of Be. Accessible.
    • Major Campbell Roberts (Auckland) – founder and Director of the Salvation Army’s Social Policy and Parliamentary Affairs Unit.
    • Graham Lowe (Northland) – former NZ rugby league coach, founder of the Lowie Foundation
    • Dame Dr Iritana Tawhiwhirangi (Wellington) – Maori educator and leader of Kohanga Reo movement

In the coming months, a judging panel – comprising representatives of awards patrons, presenters, sponsors, community leaders and independent experts – will evaluate the nominations. The shortlist of 10 candidates to be considered for the New Zealander of the Year Award will be announced in December.

Related news