2019 New Zealander of the Year Awards finalists confirmed

21 Jan 2019

2019 NZOTY Finalists Lisa King, Mike King and Dr Marewa Glover
2019 NZOTY Finalists Lisa King, Mike King and Dr Marewa Glover

The New Zealander of the Year Awards office is pleased to announce the three finalists in each of its six award categories.

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year

  • Dr Marewa Glover: tobacco harm reduction advocate (Auckland)
  • Lisa King: founder of Eat My Lunch (Auckland)
  • Mike King: mental health advocate (Auckland)

Chief Judge Cameron Bennett said “Empathy, understanding and a passion for effecting real, positive change are the defining qualities shared by Marewa Glover, Lisa King and Mike King. These three remarkable Kiwis are worthy finalists for the title of Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year in 2019. They are tackling some of the toughest social issues facing New Zealand – issues that touch us all.

“With passion, persistence and professionalism, Marewa Glover has become a catalyst for the adoption of practical, real world solutions to public health issues, especially those that disproportionately affect indigenous populations. Never one to shy away from challenging conventional thinking, Marewa’s work to find better ways to reduce the harm caused by smoking, especially among Maori, is world-leading.

“Lisa King doesn’t just believe that no Kiwi child should go hungry, she rolls up her sleeves and makes that belief a reality. Calling on her creative and commercial expertise, Lisa’s innovative and successful social enterprise Eat My Lunch is positively and sustainably transforming the lives of thousands of Kiwi kids, their families and their communities.

“Mike King has seen first-hand the tragic and devastating impacts of depression, alcohol and drug abuse in our communities – especially among Maori and young people. He pulls no punches tackling New Zealand’s shocking rate of suicide, inspiring hope and optimism for those most at risk.”

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year

  • Kendall Flutey (Christchurch)
  • Sophie Pascoe (Christchurch)
  • Shay Wright (Auckland)

Metlifecare Senior New Zealander of the Year

  • Sir Mason Durie (Palmerston North)
  • Dr Bill (William) Glass (Wellington)
  • Dr Rosamund Vallings (Auckland)

Sanitarium New Zealand Innovator of the Year

  • Dr Mark Sagar - Soul Machines (Auckland)
  • Dr Alister Scarfe & Steven Saunders – Robotics Plus (Whakamarama)
  • Ian Taylor – Animation Research Ltd (Dunedin)

Mitre 10 New Zealand Community of the Year

  • Kaibosh Food Rescue (Wellington)
  • Kiwi Coast (Northland)
  • Pillars (national)

Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

  • Pera Barrett (Wellington)
  • Glen Green (Auckland)
  • Barbara Halliwell (Wellington)

Related news